Published On: Thu, Jan 19th, 2012

Central University VCs, professors protest API based promotion system

EduShine Academic Search


The Vice-Chancellors of two Central Universities – Delhi University and Jamia Millia Islamia have rejected the point based system for promotion of teachers suggested by a UGC committee.

The system was introduced in June 2010. As per the system a teacher will be assessed on three categories-teaching, extra and co curricular activities and research and publication. The system faced criticism from the teaching community, who felt that the job of a teacher is to teach in the first place and then do a research and write papers.

In December 2011, a committee under the chairmanship of Professor M Anandkishnan, Chairman IIT, Kanpur was constituted to rework on the promotion system for the teachers.  The committee is to submit its report in two months time.

The committee comprises of nine members including Dinesh Singh and Najeeb Jung. In the committee meeting held earlier this month, the two Vice-Chancellors rejected the point based system of assessment of teachers. Sources in the UGC confirmed that both the Vice-Chancellors criticised and rejected the point based system and the committee has made up its mind to do away with the system.

The committee has now decided to come up with a new system for promotion of the teachers. In the month of November last year, the two vice chancellors had met the UGC Chairman and the HRD minister requesting to do away with the point system after which this committee has been formed.

Meanwhile, The Federation of Central Universities’ Teachers’ Associations (FEDCUTA) and Delhi University Teachers’ Association (DUTA) has been protesting against the point system.

“We have held several protests against the point system for assessment and promotion of the teachers. Our primary job as teachers is to teach. Besides adequate facilities for research is not available at all places. We have been demanding for the self appraisal system,” said former FEDCUTA and former DUTA president Aditya N Misra.