UGC holds to provide 12B status to 7 AP universities

EduShine Academic Search

University Grants Commission (UGC) has denied to provide 12B status to 7 AP universities as they failed to fulfill the minimum requirements of having 15 departments and full-fledged faculty even years after their establishment. Some of the universities are still functioning from a single building. Without the 12B status these universities are not eligible for central grants. However, it is to be noted that although these universities failed to get the 12B status, the state government has given them permission to affiliate colleges in their own districts.

The seven universities include Palamuru University, Mahbubnagar, Adikavi Nannaya University, Rajahmundry, Krishna University, Machilipatnam, Rayalaseema University, Kurnool, Satavahana University, Karimnagar, Yogi Vemana University, Kadapa, and Vikram Simhapuri University, Nellore. Interestingly, three universities established around the same time namely JNTU, Anantapur, Kakinada and Hyderabad have got 12B status.

When asked about the approval process, VCs of these universities said that some of them have even stopped trying to get the affiliation. “In the past four months, we have not tried to get the status as the university is still in its fledgling stage. We are yet to establish centres required for affiliation of colleges,” said P George Victor, VC of Adikavi Nannaya University. The universities which are provided meagre funds are finding it difficult to run the show without the 12B protection.

According to the AP State Council of Higher Education (APSCHE) officials, 12B status is too high a yardstick for these universities. It is too early for some of the universities to get this status. The state government knowing the situation has been providing them ample fund to go ahead with the construction.