Published On: Fri, Sep 14th, 2012

MHRD: A Separate 15-Member Council for Deemed Universities

EduShine Academic Search

The Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) has decided to set-up a 15-member Council of Deemed Universities (CDU). The move has been initiated in order to co-ordinate issues of deemed universities across the country.

The primary priority of the council will be to ensure adoption of the ministry’s single entrance test, called the national joint entrance exam (JEE), for engineering admissions and implementation of uniform accounting standards. Delivery of quality education will be another key priority reports.

The notification has been issued by joint secretary (HRD) R P Sisodia, stating that the council will be headed by HRD minister while the joint secretary will be the member secretary of the new body. Its members will comprise the vice-chancellors (VCs) of eight deemed universities and four eminent academicians. The remaining three members, including the member secretary, will be representatives of the government. The tenure of the council will be for two years, after which it will have a fresh set of members and academicians for the next term.

Bhushan Patwardhan and G D Yadav are the two VCs of deemed universities from Maharashtra who are part of the CDU. Patwardhan is the VC of Pune-based Symbiosis International University while Yadav is the VC of the Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, which was known as the University Department of Chemical Technology (UDCT) of Mumbai University prior to attaining the status of a deemed university.

The nominees for the government representatives includes VCs of Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology; Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani; Banasthali Vidyapeeth; Jamia Hamdard; VIT University and Gujarat Vidyapeeth are other members. Eminent academicians on board the new council are: Goverdhan Mehta, K K Talwar, V S Chauhan and Dinesh Singh. Chairman of University Grants Commission (UGC) and Secretary to HRD ministry.