Published On: Sun, Jun 3rd, 2012

Grant Opportunities for Bihar Colleges

EduShine Academic Search

Bihar has been a major centre of learning. This tradition was perhaps lost during the medieval period when its learning centres were destroyed by the marauding armies of the invaders. The state saw a revival during the later part of the British rule when they established a University at Patna along with other centres of high learning namely Science College in Patna, Prince of Wales Medical College and Bihar Engineering College etc.  In the 60s major educational reforms were implemented to streamline the education structure of state, however the changes were short lived as the successive governments failed to implement them. Modern Bihar has an inadequate educational infrastructure creating a huge mismatch between demand and supply. This problem is further compounded because of the increase in population. To cope up, the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and Ministry of Human Resource and Development (MHRD) have decided to grant funds to 36 colleges of Bihar to boost teaching and research activities in science. Every respective college will get a share of 50 lakhs. Patna University would get some additional amount for developing its science departments. The decision for this was taken in an official meeting including DST, HRD, other universities and college officials, under the chairmanship of SE Hasnain, a former Vice-Chancellor at Hyderabad Central University and a professor at IIT Delhi, A Mukhopadhyaya who is a DST adviser, MZ Chisti at University of Kashmir along with some other officials and principals of different colleges participated in the meeting.

 Arun Kumar Sinha, the Principal of Patna Science College who coordinated the meeting hosted by Patna University, said all the four colleges namely Patna Science College, BN College, Magadh Mahila College and Patna Women’s College were identified during the meeting. All these colleges seeking DST funds are NAAC accredited and each science department of Patna University has got at least five core faculty members which are supposed to be mandatory for the institutions claiming DST funds.